Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum

Go Back   Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum > Business > Starting a Landscaping Business
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2006, 07:22 AM
Acorn

USDA
iandad is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi all,

I have been lurking for several months now and have really appreciated all the info I have gleaned from the various forum topics. Good stuff! I have also read all the caveats and warnings about the competitive nature of the biz.

I am (yet another) career changer looking to do a start up. I have spent the last six months working at a VERY prestigious retail/wholesale location. I have had the opportunity to get really informed on plant material and have worked with some really knowledgeable folks. I am studying for the state Nursery Cert to help document my woody ID skills. I have learned far more from working at this place than I could by sitting in a classroom studying Dirr. I have the opportunity to interact with a lot of customers who are pro designers and installers and I seem to know almost as much as they do at this point about plant material, growing conditions, etc.

But.

My end game is to start up a design and install outfit, specializing in high end materials for affluent retirees. The market is there, no doubt about it! The local tech college offers Landscape Design classes starting in January and I think I this will enable me to at least get an intro on the drawing/basic design skills. I have a good �eye� for design and pretty good drafting skills already. I plan on taking these classes in addition to those in irrigation and pesticide/herbicide applications.