Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum

Go Back   Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum > Landscape Services > Lawn & Landscape Maintenance
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2011, 05:50 PM
Acorn

USDA Zone 6
Woodwaps is on a distinguished road
Rose of Sharon Help

I have 2 Rose of Sharons in my yard, the branches of one are bent over almost like the buds are too heavy for the branches to support. I'm not sure how to prune it, and I don't want to hurt the tree itself. Any help on how to prune it, or how to get the branches to straighten out would be much appreciated. Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place too, I am new at this.
Attached Thumbnails
Rose of Sharon Help-img_20110319_115115.jpg   Rose of Sharon Help-img_20110319_115123.jpg  
Old 03-20-2011, 07:07 PM
Gold Oak Member

USDA Zone 6
brooks will become famous soon enough brooks will become famous soon enough
Rose of Sharon is super easy to trim- just take some hedge shears while it's dormant (not growing leaves) and trim away. It will grow new branches from the buds closest to the cut end. It is, however, quite a large shrub, which people don't tend to realize, so you'll need to keep trimming it to maintain a certain size.

Your shrub isn't bending from the weight of it's flower bud (speaking of which, what you see there are actually seed pods from last year), it's leaning towards the light and away from the shadow of your house. So, you'll need to either move it and plant it somewhere sunnier after you prune it, or it's just going to continue reaching.

Try searching for "How to prune a Rose Of Sharon" on the web and you'll find plenty of indepth answers.

www.arcadiagardensllc.com
Old 03-20-2011, 07:39 PM
Acorn

USDA Zone 6