Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum

Go Back   Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum > Landscape Services > Landscaping Design
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2016, 01:52 PM
Acorn

USDA Zone 7
jleslie is on a distinguished road
designer gets sales commission or is it a kickback?

I once worked for a subdivision home builder who had a showroom with numerous vendors - flooring, cabinets, etc and landscape and pool company. The buyers were not obligated to use the "in house preferred" vendors to upgrade the cost of the home, but if they did, they could wrap the costs into the mortgage that the home builder also offered. Each "preferred" vendor had to mark up their costs to the buyer by 10% and then the builder would skim that off the top of the amount financed or make the preferred vendor pay them directly if the contract was paid out of pocket directly by the buyer.

I worked as a landscape designer/sales person for the preferred landscape company and we had to tack on 10% for the builder regardless of whether the contract was included in the mortgage.

On an old thread, the issue of a landscape designer requesting a "kickback" from a referred contractor was considered unethical. Yet some contractors who employ salespeople like a larger pool company pays their sales people 5-10%. So why is it unethical if I am designing a project with a pool and ask the pool guy to give me say 5% for essentially acting as the sales person and hand delivering a new contract?

I think a kickback is a form of bribe or quid pro quo where two parties are colluding to form an agreement to "help each other" where a third party is involved i.e. Olympics - head of the Olympic organization committee gets bribe (kickback) from the City who is "awarded" the contract to host the Olympics. Or, a politician is given money in an off shore account to vote on a certain bill.