Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum

Go Back   Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum > Landscape Services > Landscaping Design
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2013, 12:16 AM
Acorn

USDA Zone 7
Bigpoppa85 is on a distinguished road
What would you price this job? I'm a newbie

I'm new to the business. I'm subcontracting right now. A guy designed the project, my crew and I do the dirty work.

Here are the details:
Materials (at WHOLESALE costs): $1,750.00
Total Labor hours (including me): 66
Extra expenses (gas to/from, equipment rentals):$490.00

So...what would you guys say you would price it as? I'm not talking as a subcontractor, just overall price to hand to customer.
Old 10-16-2013, 12:17 AM
Acorn

USDA Zone 7
Here's what I'm figuring. You guys tell me where I'm off.
I would say this is a $7,428.14 job. That breaks down as:
Materials: 5,292.06 (wholesale times 3)
Labor: 1,650 (66 hours x $25/hour)
Extras: 486.08 (I rounded up to 490 earlier)

Is wholesale times 3 reasonable? Btw, I wouldn't break down line items on a bid like this with the customer.
Old 10-16-2013, 07:07 AM
B&B Tree

USDA Zone 7
Clarkkent will become famous soon enough
What's the job?

Can't comment as to how it should be priced unless we know what may or may not be included in your pricing, and what possibly might be left out.

Your overhead is also going to play into it.
www.clarkkentcreations.com
Old 10-16-2013, 07:47 AM
Gold Oak Member

USDA Zone 6
brooks will become famous soon enough brooks will become famous soon enough
Generally speaking-

double wholesale and I can't believe you're covering overhead at $25/hr labor.

BUT impossible to say without knowing the job.

www.arcadiagardensllc.com
Old 10-16-2013, 09:48 AM
Acorn

USDA Zone 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarkkent View Post
What's the job?