Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum

Go Back   Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum > Landscape Services > Homeowner Help
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2013, 02:51 PM
Acorn

USDA Zone 6
tpbeebejr is on a distinguished road
DIY dry shed under deck, concrete floor, retainer wall

Sorry for the re-post in this forum. After reading the descriptions of the forums, I realized that I may have posted this to the wrong forum. Apparently several hundred people viewed it but nobody said anything.

I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I am happy to become part of the forum. I live in Landenberg, PA (19350) - the extreme SE corner of PA, very close to the border with DE. I am a scientist/engineer, but not this kind of engineer.

I have a large back deck. Under one half of it is a dry shed with a concrete floor, a flat sloped roof with gutters, and locked door and walls. This is all hidden under the existing deck. Water (rain) drains down through the gaps between the deck boards. The proper roof and gutters keep everything completely dry.

Under the other half of the same deck is currently a dirt floor which I have dug out. On this side the water (rain) drains down through the gaps between the deck boards and drips down onto the dirt. I want to make this a dry shed also. My questions have to do with a new concrete floor and a retaining wall on the side where I have dug out the dirt, leaving an earthen wall about 3.5 ft high in the back right corner and about 1.5 ft high in the front right corner. None of this will attach to my house's foundation, nor will it bear any weight from the deck above.