Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum

Go Back   Ground Trades Xchange - a landscaping forum > Landscape Services > Hardscaping
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2004, 05:02 PM
Gold Oak Member

USDA
paponte is an unknown quantity at this point
Landscape Fabric under pavers?

I have never done it before, nor does the manufacturer mention use of it. I have head people laying landscape fabric under their crushed base material when laying pavers. I guess it would help keep the aggrigate from settleing into the ground, but can't see any other reason for it.

Has or does anyone else use the fabric? Pros... Cons.

Thanks for any input.
Old 05-02-2004, 05:34 PM
Whip

USDA Zone 11
Rex Mann is on a distinguished road
We use a geo-textile under the aggregate base material when we are dealing with poor draining soils or poor load bearing soils. The geo-tex keeps the aggregate from migrating into the soil and the soil from migrating into the aggregate. This is very much needed in areas where freeze-thaw happens.

Go to ICPI.ORG to learn more.

Peace,

Rex

our web site

Pavers Installed Company

http://PaversInstalled.Com

Follow us on Twitter @PaversInstalled
Old 05-02-2004, 07:06 PM
Gold Oak Member

USDA
Bill Schwab is an unknown quantity at this point
Rexx:

Have you seen that honey comb grid that is available? They make it in 4 and 6" varieties so you pour the gravel into it, expand the honey combs and pack it together. Keeps gravel from walking in expansible soils. Also stabilizes soil somewhat...that way when we get into a wet winter, the driveways stay nice and flat when Home Depots which are set in 2" of base and sand take a walk.

Encinitas, Ca. 92024

www.naturescapelandscape.com

Old 05-02-2004, 07:15 PM
GTX Advisor

USDA Zone 5
Paul is on a distinguished road